Storage and refrigeration
How to store Wegovy, Ozempic, Zepbound and Mounjaro
Wegovy, Ozempic, Zepbound and Mounjaro injections are normally stored at 2°C to 8°C (36°F to 46°F). Their time out of the fridge depends on the device and whether it has been used. Wegovy tablets stay at 20°C to 25°C (68°F to 77°F) in their original bottle.
Every figure below comes from that product’s own label, read on 2026-08-12.
Compare storage rules by product and device
Match the pen, vial, syringe or tablet on your box. Then check its time and temperature limits. Open the brand guide for the full rules, including when to discard an opened device.
| Brand and device | Refrigerated | Room temperature | Time and discard rule |
|---|---|---|---|
| ZepboundSingle-dose pen or single-dose vialTirzepatide | 2°C to 8°C (36°F to 46°F) | not to exceed 30°C (86°F) | 21 daysStorage conditions |
| ZepboundMulti-dose vial or KwikPen, unopenedTirzepatide | 2°C to 8°C (36°F to 46°F) | up to 30°C (86°F) | 30 daysStorage conditions |
| ZepboundMulti-dose vial or KwikPen, after first useTirzepatide | 2°C to 8°C (36°F to 46°F) | up to 30°C (86°F) | 30 daysStorage conditions |
| MounjaroSingle-dose pen or single-dose vialTirzepatide | 2°C to 8°C (36°F to 46°F) | not to exceed 30°C (86°F) | 21 daysStorage conditions |
| MounjaroMulti-dose vial or KwikPen, unopenedTirzepatide | 2°C to 8°C (36°F to 46°F) | up to 30°C (86°F) | 30 daysStorage conditions |
| MounjaroMulti-dose vial or KwikPen, after first useTirzepatide | 2°C to 8°C (36°F to 46°F) | up to 30°C (86°F) | 30 daysStorage conditions |
| OzempicSingle-patient-use pen, before first useSemaglutide | 2°C to 8°C (36°F to 46°F) | Not stated on the label | None stated |
| OzempicSingle-patient-use pen, after first useSemaglutide | 2°C to 8°C (36°F to 46°F) | 15°C to 30°C (59°F to 86°F) | 56 daysStorage conditions |
| OzempicSingle-dose prefilled syringeSemaglutide | 2°C to 8°C (36°F to 46°F) | 8°C to 30°C (46°F to 86°F) | 28 daysStorage conditions |
| WegovySingle-dose pen or single-dose syringeSemaglutide | 2°C to 8°C (36°F to 46°F) | 8°C to 30°C (46°F to 86°F) | 28 daysStorage conditions |
| WegovyFlexTouch single-patient-use pen, before first useSemaglutide | 2°C to 8°C (36°F to 46°F) | Not stated on the label | None stated |
| WegovyFlexTouch single-patient-use pen, after first useSemaglutide | 2°C to 8°C (36°F to 46°F) | 15°C to 30°C (59°F to 86°F) | 56 daysStorage conditions |
| WegovyTabletsSemaglutide | Not applicable | 20°C to 25°C (68°F to 77°F) | No day limit statedStorage conditions |
Three rules to check before taking a dose
Temperature ranges differ
The device changes the answer
First use starts another clock
Devices with no stated room-temperature window
The labels require refrigeration before first use for these pens. They give no allowance for room-temperature storage at that stage. Ask a pharmacist about a pen left out before first use.
Ozempic — Single-patient-use pen, before first use
Wegovy — FlexTouch single-patient-use pen, before first use
The full record for each brand
Dose schedules for these brands
Dose schedules also differ by brand and product. Find the schedule for the medicine on your box, including its starting dose and later steps.
How this table was built
We read every row on 2026-08-12 from the storage section of that product’s own current label, plus its instructions for use. We carried no figure from one product to another. That includes Zepbound and Mounjaro, which are the same drug from the same maker. They print the same numbers today on two separate labels, and either label can change on its own. Where a label contradicts itself, as the Wegovy label does on the FlexTouch range, we publish the storage-section figure and flag the clash on the brand page.
- ZEPBOUND (tirzepatide) injection — DailyMed SPL, section 16.2 Storage and Handlingretrieved 2026-08-12FDA label
- MOUNJARO (tirzepatide) injection — DailyMed SPL, section 16.2 Storage and Handlingretrieved 2026-08-12FDA label
- OZEMPIC (semaglutide) injection — DailyMed SPL, section 16 How Supplied/Storage and Handlingretrieved 2026-08-12FDA label
- WEGOVY (semaglutide) injection and tablet — DailyMed SPL, section 16 How Supplied/Storage and Handlingretrieved 2026-08-12FDA label