Skip to main content

Sources last read

Wegovy · Semaglutide

Does Wegovy need to be refrigerated?

The Wegovy injection needs refrigeration before use; the Wegovy tablet does not. A single-dose pen or syringe allows up to 28 days at 8°C to 30°C (46°F to 86°F), before cap removal. After first use, a FlexTouch pen allows 56 days at 15°C to 30°C (59°F to 86°F) or in the fridge. Tablets stay in their original bottle at 20°C to 25°C (68°F to 77°F). The label permits temporary changes to 15°C to 30°C (59°F to 86°F).

Source for this answer

Source: Novo Nordisk label for Wegovy, SPL version 19, read 2026-08-12

Source: Novo Nordisk label for Wegovy, SPL version 19, read 2026-08-12

Storage rules for your device

Match the name on your box to the device below. Check both the temperature limit and the time allowed.

Wegovy storage conditions by device presentation, from the FDA label
PresentationRefrigeratedRoom temperatureTime allowedAfter first use
Single-dose pen or single-dose syringeThe weekly single-dose pen, including Wegovy HD, and the single-dose prefilled syringe.2°C to 8°C (36°F to 46°F)8°C to 30°C (46°F to 86°F)28 daysNot applicable
FlexTouch single-patient-use pen, before first useThe four-dose FlexTouch pen before the first injection is taken.2°C to 8°C (36°F to 46°F)Not stated on this labelNot stated on this labelNot applicable
FlexTouch single-patient-use pen, after first useThe four-dose FlexTouch pen once the first injection has been taken.2°C to 8°C (36°F to 46°F)15°C to 30°C (59°F to 86°F)56 days56 days, at 15°C to 30°C or in the refrigerator at 2°C to 8°C.
TabletsThe oral Wegovy tablet, supplied in bottles of 30 at 1.5 mg, 4 mg, 9 mg and 25 mg.Not applicable20°C to 25°C (68°F to 77°F)No day limit statedNot stated on this label

Storage date calculator

When should I discard it?

stays on this device

Choose your Wegovy device and enter the date below. The calculator adds the day limit from that device’s label.

Nothing is saved or sent. Changing the device can change the day limit, so match the name to the device in your hand.

28-day label window

Enter the date to see when the 28-day window reaches its limit.

Temperature
8°C to 30°C (46°F to 86°F)
Label rule
Throw the pen or syringe away after use. Throw it away sooner if it froze, if light got to it, or if it went above 30°C (86°F). Same if it has been out of the fridge for 28 days or more.

This is a calendar reminder, not a temperature check. If the label counts separate periods out of the fridge, add those days together; one start date is exact only when the device stayed out continuously. If it froze, got too hot, or was out longer than you can confirm, the date alone cannot tell you whether to use it.

When the storage window ends

These conditions apply alongside the time and temperature shown above.

Single-dose pen or single-dose syringe

  • The label is specific: this window applies before the pen or syringe cap is removed.
  • The instructions for use direct keeping the device in the original carton during those 28 days to protect it from light.

When the window ends: Throw the pen or syringe away after use. Throw it away sooner if it froze, if light got to it, or if it went above 30°C (86°F). Same if it has been out of the fridge for 28 days or more.

FlexTouch single-patient-use pen, before first use

The label says fridge, at 2°C to 8°C, until you start the pen. It gives a room-temperature time only for after that. As with the Ozempic pen, there is no window before first use — and the 28-day figure elsewhere on this label belongs to a different device.

FlexTouch single-patient-use pen, after first use

  • The storage section says 15°C to 30°C for the 56 days. One instructions passage on the same label says 20°C to 25°C (68°F to 77°F) instead. Where a label contradicts itself we publish the storage-section figure and flag the clash.
  • The refrigerator remains permitted after first use, and the 56 days apply either way.

When the window ends: Throw the pen away if it froze, if light got to it, or if it went above 30°C (86°F). Discard it 56 days after first use, whether stored at room temperature or in the fridge.

Tablets

  • Excursions are permitted to 15°C to 30°C (59°F to 86°F), which the label attributes to USP Controlled Room Temperature.
  • No day count applies: this is the tablet’s ordinary storage condition, not a time-limited allowance away from a refrigerator.

When the window ends: The label sets no separate room-temperature day limit for the tablet. Use the expiration date on the bottle.

When no room-temperature window is stated

The Wegovy label gives no room-temperature time limit for this device. A time limit listed for another device does not apply.

  • FlexTouch single-patient-use pen, before first use: The label says fridge, at 2°C to 8°C, until you start the pen. It gives a room-temperature time only for after that. As with the Ozempic pen, there is no window before first use — and the 28-day figure elsewhere on this label belongs to a different device.

Freezing and light

Freezing

Do not freeze Wegovy and do not use it if it has been frozen. The label also directs against storing it in the freezer or directly beside the refrigerator cooling element.

Light and heat

Protect the Wegovy injection from light and keep the single-dose pen and syringe in the original carton; protect the FlexTouch pen from excessive heat and light.

Traveling with Wegovy

Check your device’s time and temperature limits before travel. The label covers storage conditions, but it does not cover every travel question.

What the label supports

  • A single-dose pen or syringe can stay out at 8°C to 30°C (46°F to 86°F) for up to 28 days. The cap has to still be on.
  • After first use, a FlexTouch pen may be stored for 56 days at 15°C to 30°C (59°F to 86°F) or in the refrigerator. Count from first use, not from the start of the trip.
  • Wegovy tablets need no refrigeration at all: 20°C to 25°C with excursions permitted to 15°C to 30°C.
  • The label directs discarding a Wegovy pen or syringe exposed to temperatures above 30°C (86°F).

What the label does not address

  • An unopened FlexTouch pen out of the refrigerator. Section 16 states no room-temperature window before first use for that device.
  • Cooling bags and gel packs, which appear nowhere in the label.
  • Airport screening and X-ray exposure, which the label does not mention.
  • Air travel, cabin pressure and checked baggage, which the label does not address.

Questions about storing Wegovy

Does Wegovy need to be refrigerated?

The injection does: 2°C to 8°C (36°F to 46°F). The tablet does not. Tablets keep at 20°C to 25°C (68°F to 77°F), and can dip to 15°C or reach 30°C for short spells. The label gives no fridge range for them.

How long can a Wegovy pen be out of the refrigerator?

A single-dose pen or syringe gets 28 days at 8°C to 30°C (46°F to 86°F), with the cap still on. An in-use FlexTouch pen gets 56 days at 15°C to 30°C, or you can keep it in the fridge.

What does before cap removal mean on the Wegovy label?

The 28-day allowance applies to the single-dose pen or syringe before its cap is removed. It is not an allowance to keep using that device for 28 days after opening.

What happens if Wegovy gets too warm?

Wegovy is the one label here that spells out the consequence. Throw the pen or syringe away if it has frozen, if light got to it, or if it went above 86°F (30°C). Same if it has been out of the fridge past its stated window.

Do Wegovy tablets need refrigeration?

No. Tablets keep at 20°C to 25°C (68°F to 77°F). They can go as low as 15°C or as high as 30°C (59°F to 86°F) for short spells. The label gives no fridge range for them at all.

Is Wegovy stored the same way as Ozempic?

Not exactly, even though both are semaglutide from the same maker. The in-use multi-dose pens do match: 56 days at 15°C to 30°C. But Wegovy’s single-dose pen and syringe get 28 days from 8°C to 30°C, and only with the cap still on. Wegovy also comes as a tablet, which is not refrigerated at all.

Does the Wegovy label contradict itself on the FlexTouch temperature?

In one respect, yes. The storage section says 15°C to 30°C (59°F to 86°F) for those 56 days. A passage in the same label’s instructions says 20°C to 25°C (68°F to 77°F) instead. We publish the storage-section figure and flag the clash rather than quietly picking one.

What meat to avoid on Wegovy?

The Wegovy label does not name any meat or food group to avoid. It sets no restriction by food type.

The injection is used alongside a reduced-calorie diet and more activity. Tablets have different instructions: take them once daily on an empty stomach with water. Food choices for your needs are a separate question for your care team.

Why are people stopping Wegovy?

The label’s own figure: 6.8 in every 100 adults on 2.4 mg stopped for good over a side effect, against 3.2 on placebo. The three reasons it names most often are nausea, vomiting and diarrhea. On 7.2 mg it was 5 in 100, the same as 2.4 mg, against 2 on placebo.

Those are trial numbers, not a survey of why people stop in everyday use. Cost, supply and insurance were not measured. FDA reports also include cases where the drug did not have the expected effect.

Can you leave Wegovy out of the fridge and still use it?

Yes, inside the window its label states, and the window depends on the device. A single-dose pen or syringe gets 28 days at 8°C to 30°C (46°F to 86°F), and only while the cap is still on. An in-use FlexTouch pen gets 56 days at 15°C to 30°C.

Wegovy is the one label here that spells out what ends a device early. Throw it away if it froze, if light got to it, or if it went above 30°C (86°F). The same goes once it has been out of the refrigerator past its window.

Does Wegovy work better when refrigerated?

No label here says anything of the kind. Storage sections set conditions and discard rules; none of them claims a product is stronger cold than warm.

Wegovy’s label does contradict itself on one temperature, and we publish the clash rather than pick quietly. Section 16 gives 15°C to 30°C for the in-use FlexTouch pen’s 56 days. A passage in the same label’s instructions says 20°C to 25°C instead, and this site prints the storage-section figure while flagging the other.

Storage rules for other brands

Storage limits differ by product and device. Compare the rules for each brand.

Compare storage rules across all four labels

More about Wegovy

Find the dose schedule and reported side effects for Wegovy.

FDA labelSPL set id ee06186f-2aa3-4990-a760-757579d8f77b

Storage information was checked against the label linked below on 2026-08-12. The version above identifies the label used.

1primary source, each with the day we read it — open the documents used on this page

Related Wegovy guides