Sources last read
Ozempic · Semaglutide
Does Ozempic need to be refrigerated?
Ozempic pens need refrigeration at 2°C to 8°C (36°F to 46°F) before first use. The label gives no room-temperature window for an unopened pen. Once you start it, the pen gets 56 days at 15°C to 30°C (59°F to 86°F), or you can put it back in the fridge. The single-dose prefilled syringe is a different product with its own figures: 8°C to 30°C (46°F to 86°F) for up to 28 days. Never freeze Ozempic, and never use it after it has frozen.
Source for this answer
Source: Novo Nordisk label for Ozempic, SPL version 20, read 2026-08-12
Source: Novo Nordisk label for Ozempic, SPL version 20, read 2026-08-12
Storage rules for your device
Match the name on your box to the device below. Check both the temperature limit and the time allowed.
| Presentation | Refrigerated | Room temperature | Time allowed | After first use |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Single-patient-use pen, before first useThe multi-dose pen holding four weekly doses, before the first injection is taken. | 2°C to 8°C (36°F to 46°F) | Not stated on this label | Not stated on this label | Not applicable |
| Single-patient-use pen, after first useThe same multi-dose pen once the first injection has been taken. | 2°C to 8°C (36°F to 46°F) | 15°C to 30°C (59°F to 86°F) | 56 days | 56 days, whether the pen is kept at 15°C to 30°C or back in the refrigerator at 2°C to 8°C. This is the longest in-use window of the four brands. |
| Single-dose prefilled syringeThe four-pack of single-dose prefilled syringes, a separate presentation from the pen. | 2°C to 8°C (36°F to 46°F) | 8°C to 30°C (46°F to 86°F) | 28 days | Not applicable |
Storage date calculator
When should I discard it?
Nothing is saved or sent. Changing the device can change the day limit, so match the name to the device in your hand.
56-day label window
Enter the date to see when the 56-day window reaches its limit.
This is a calendar reminder, not a temperature check. If the label counts separate periods out of the fridge, add those days together; one start date is exact only when the device stayed out continuously. If it froze, got too hot, or was out longer than you can confirm, the date alone cannot tell you whether to use it.
When the storage window ends
These conditions apply alongside the time and temperature shown above.
Single-patient-use pen, before first use
Single-patient-use pen, after first use
Single-dose prefilled syringe
When no room-temperature window is stated
Freezing and light
Freezing
Light and heat
Traveling with Ozempic
Check your device’s time and temperature limits before travel. The label covers storage conditions, but it does not cover every travel question.
What the label supports
What the label does not address
Questions about storing Ozempic
Does Ozempic need to be refrigerated?
Does Ozempic need to be refrigerated?
Yes, at 2°C to 8°C (36°F to 46°F) before first use. Unlike the tirzepatide labels, this one gives no room-temperature time for a pen you have not started. Once you start it, the pen gets 56 days at room temperature or in the fridge.
How long can Ozempic be out of the refrigerator?
How long can Ozempic be out of the refrigerator?
Once you start it, 56 days at 15°C to 30°C (59°F to 86°F). A single-dose prefilled syringe gets 28 days at 8°C to 30°C (46°F to 86°F). Before first use, the pen’s label gives no room-temperature window at all.
Can an unopened Ozempic pen be left out at room temperature?
Can an unopened Ozempic pen be left out at room temperature?
The label directs refrigeration at 2°C to 8°C (36°F to 46°F) before first use. It states no room-temperature allowance for an unopened Ozempic pen. Another brand’s allowance does not apply to it.
What is controlled room temperature on the Ozempic label?
What is controlled room temperature on the Ozempic label?
15°C to 30°C, stated as 59°F to 86°F. It is a bracket rather than a ceiling, so a room colder than 15°C sits outside the stated window as much as one hotter than 30°C.
Is Ozempic still usable after it has been frozen?
Is Ozempic still usable after it has been frozen?
The label directs not freezing Ozempic and not using it if it has been frozen. It also directs against storing it directly adjacent to the refrigerator cooling element, which is where accidental freezing tends to happen.
Do Ozempic pens and prefilled syringes store the same way?
Do Ozempic pens and prefilled syringes store the same way?
No. They are separate products with separate figures. The pen gets 56 days at 15°C to 30°C once you start it. The syringe gets 28 days from 8°C to 30°C, and you throw it away after one use.
Does the needle stay on the Ozempic pen between doses?
Does the needle stay on the Ozempic pen between doses?
Take the needle off after each injection and throw it away safely. Store the pen with no needle attached and the cap on.
Does Ozempic lose effectiveness if not refrigerated?
Does Ozempic lose effectiveness if not refrigerated?
An Ozempic pen in use may stay at 15°C to 30°C (59°F to 86°F) for up to 56 days after first use. It does not have to stay refrigerated during that period. Before first use, the label requires refrigeration and gives no room-temperature allowance for the pen.
Discard the pen after 56 days, even if medicine remains. Protect it from heat and sunlight, keep the cap on, and do not use it after freezing. If its storage history is unclear, ask a pharmacist before using it.
How long can semaglutide be out of the fridge?
How long can semaglutide be out of the fridge?
It depends on which product and which device, because semaglutide is the molecule in both Ozempic and Wegovy. An in-use multi-dose pen gets 56 days at 15°C to 30°C on either brand’s label.
The single-dose forms differ: an Ozempic prefilled syringe gets 28 days at 8°C to 30°C. Wegovy’s single-dose pen and syringe get 28 days at the same range, but only while the cap is still on. Wegovy tablets need no refrigeration at all.
Storage rules for other brands
Storage limits differ by product and device. Compare the rules for each brand.
More about Ozempic
Find the dose schedule and reported side effects for Ozempic.
- OZEMPIC (semaglutide) injection — DailyMed SPL, section 16 How Supplied/Storage and Handlingretrieved 2026-08-12FDA label