Sources last read
Which GLP-1 drugs have a generic?
Liraglutide and Exenatide have generic products listed as marketed in the checked FDA file. Compare generic status below, then see what pharmacies report paying for liraglutide.
Source for this answer
Source: FDA applications checked 2026-08-13
Source: FDA applications checked 2026-08-13
What matters first
- Semaglutide
- one tentative approval; no marketed generics
- Your price
- Ask for a pharmacy quote; the figures here are pharmacy costs
Medically reviewed by Jennifer Montecillo, MD · non-practicing medical reviewerApproval file read 2026-08-13Sources and checked dates
Find your medication
A generic name identifies the active ingredient. The name alone does not mean you can buy a cheaper generic. Foundayo uses orforglipron. That drug is not in this file, so its generic status is not checked here.
| Brand | Generic name | Brand application | Generic status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Wegovy | semaglutide | NDA 215256 | Tentative ANDA; none marketed |
| Ozempic | semaglutide | NDA 209637 | Tentative ANDA; none marketed |
| Zepbound | tirzepatide | NDA 217806 | No ANDA in this snapshot |
| Mounjaro | tirzepatide | NDA 215866 | No ANDA in this snapshot |
| Trulicity | dulaglutide | BLA 125469 | No ANDA in this snapshot |
| Victoza | liraglutide | NDA 022341 | Marketed ANDA |
| Saxenda | liraglutide | NDA 206321 | Marketed ANDA |
| Foundayo | orforglipron | NDA 220934 | Not read in this snapshot |
| Rybelsus | semaglutide | NDA 213051 | Tentative ANDA; none marketed |
Two brands can share one generic name and still not be swappable. Wegovy and Ozempic are both semaglutide, with different approved uses and doses. Semaglutide has one tentatively approved generic application and no marketed generic product in that file.
Compare brand and generic acquisition costs
The generic costs pharmacies between 43 and 65 percent less in this liraglutide cost comparison. CMS estimates what pharmacies pay to buy the drugs. These are not patient prices.
Each row compares pens with 18 mg of liraglutide in 3 mL. Both monthly costs use the same daily dose and CMS file. This compares what pharmacies pay. It does not tell you which product to substitute.
| Month at | Brand cost | Generic cost | Difference | Calculation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 3 mg a day | $1,306.89Saxenda | $738.72Liraglutide | 43.5 percent less | Show calculation$49.24809 per mL × 3 mL a pen × 5 pens = $738.72 |
| 1.8 mg a day | $790.38Victoza | $275.69Liraglutide | 65.1 percent less | Show calculation$30.63238 per mL × 3 mL a pen × 3 pens = $275.69 |
| 1.2 mg a day | $526.49Victoza | $188.44Liraglutide | 64.2 percent less | Show calculation$31.40617 per mL × 3 mL a pen × 2 pens = $188.44 |
What this number is not
- It is an acquisition cost, not a patient price. What you pay is set by your plan, your pharmacy and any manufacturer program you qualify for, and none of those are in this file.
- CMS prices these products per milliliter or per tablet. Any monthly figure on this site is our arithmetic, based on the package size from the product’s own label. It is labeled as derived wherever it appears.
- Wholesalers, pharmacy benefit managers, plans and manufacturers settle further amounts between themselves that are not public. A difference between what a pharmacy pays and what anyone is charged is not evidence of wrongdoing, and this site does not present it as one.
- Each row carries its own effective date, and CMS marks whether the figure came from the latest survey or was carried forward from an earlier file. Both are printed rather than averaged away.
Your cash price or copay may differ from these pharmacy costs. Ask for a quote for the product, strength and amount on your prescription. Use the same payment method when you compare quotes.
The generic is not one price
CMS lists different costs per pen for liraglutide cartons in the checked file. The highest is 61 percent above the lowest, despite the same ingredient and strength.
The lowest estimate is for liraglutide 3-pak 18 mg/3 ml at $91.90 per pen. The highest is for liraglutide 5-pak 18 mg/3 ml at $147.74. These costs are for pharmacies. The file does not show what a patient paid or why costs differ by carton.
This comparison describes the file dated 23 September 2026. It does not show whether the gap is the same in other weeks.
Is there a generic Zepbound or Mounjaro?
No ANDA appears in this snapshot. FDA returned two tirzepatide applications, both Lilly NDAs, and no marketed or tentatively approved tirzepatide ANDA.
This public file therefore supplies no tirzepatide ANDA for a generic cost comparison. The separate compounded-drug page covers compounded tirzepatide.
Is there a generic Ozempic, Wegovy or Rybelsus?
The snapshot contains an Apotex ANDA marked tentatively approved and no marketed semaglutide ANDA. Every nonabbreviated semaglutide application returned is a Novo Nordisk NDA.
The application file does not state why that ANDA has tentative status or when its status may change. No market date appears in the checked file.
Is there a generic Saxenda or Victoza?
Liraglutide has marketed ANDAs from several companies in this snapshot. The checked Orange Book splits their products between AP1 and AP2.
The Orange Book group and the checked label indication are separate facts. Some labels mention diabetes, some mention weight, and three label queries returned no result.
Is there a generic Trulicity?
FDA returned Trulicity’s BLA125469 and no ANDA for dulaglutide in this snapshot.
This application snapshot does not assess a biosimilar pathway or say whether a biosimilar application has been filed or approved.
Has any GLP-1 ever gone generic?
Two have. Exenatide, the first GLP-1 approved in the United States, has a marketed ANDA in this snapshot, and so does liraglutide.
Those are the two molecules in this five-molecule snapshot with marketed ANDAs. The file contains no patent or exclusivity data and does not explain why their status differs from the other molecules.
How does FDA group the marketed liraglutide products?
The checked Orange Book puts eight ANDAs in AP1. Victoza NDA022341-001 is that group’s sole row marked reference listed drug (RLD) and reference standard (RS). three ANDAs are in AP2, where Saxenda NDA206321-001 is the sole row marked both. Each generic row is marked No for both.
AP1 and AP2 are therapeutic-equivalence groups. The drug, strength, form, route and code match within each group. FDA’s download does not assign each ANDA its own RLD number. The label column shows a separate check of FDA labels.
Orange Book checked 2026-09-06 · label response read 2026-08-13
View all 11 generic application records
| Application | Held by | Orange Book group | Label use | Label wording |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ANDA212552 | FRESENIUS KABI USA | AP1 · Victoza NDA022341-001Generic RLD / RS: No / NoGroup RLD / RS: Yes / Yes | No label found | The checked FDA label response returned no label for this application. Its approved application and Orange Book group are recorded separately. |
| ANDA212972 | SANDOZ | AP1 · Victoza NDA022341-001Generic RLD / RS: No / NoGroup RLD / RS: Yes / Yes | No label found | The checked FDA label response returned no label for this application. Its approved application and Orange Book group are recorded separately. |
| ANDA213155 | MYLAN INSTITUTIONAL | AP1 · Victoza NDA022341-001Generic RLD / RS: No / NoGroup RLD / RS: Yes / Yes | No label found | The checked FDA label response returned no label for this application. Its approved application and Orange Book group are recorded separately. |
| ANDA214568 | TEVA PHARMS | AP2 · Saxenda NDA206321-001Generic RLD / RS: No / NoGroup RLD / RS: Yes / Yes | Weight | “Liraglutide injection is indicated in combination with a reduced-calorie diet and increased physical activity to reduce excess body weight and maintain weight reduction long term in:” |
| ANDA215245 | BIOCON PHARMA | AP1 · Victoza NDA022341-001Generic RLD / RS: No / NoGroup RLD / RS: Yes / Yes | Diabetes | “Liraglutide injection is indicated: as an adjunct to diet and exercise to improve glycemic control in adults and pediatric patients aged 10 years and older with type 2 diabetes mellitus, to reduce the risk of major adverse cardiovascular events (cardiovascular death, non-fatal myocardial infarction, or non-fatal stroke) in adults with type 2 diabetes mellitus and established cardiovascular dise...” |
| ANDA215421 | LUPIN | AP1 · Victoza NDA022341-001Generic RLD / RS: No / NoGroup RLD / RS: Yes / Yes | Diabetes | “Liraglutide injection is indicated: as an adjunct to diet and exercise to improve glycemic control in adults and pediatric patients aged 10 years and older with type 2 diabetes mellitus Limitations of Use:” |
| ANDA215503 | HIKMA | AP1 · Victoza NDA022341-001Generic RLD / RS: No / NoGroup RLD / RS: Yes / Yes | Diabetes | “Liraglutide injection is indicated: as an adjunct to diet and exercise to improve glycemic control in adults and pediatric patients aged 10 years and older with type 2 diabetes mellitus Limitations of Use :” |
| ANDA217063 | BIOCON PHARMA | AP2 · Saxenda NDA206321-001Generic RLD / RS: No / NoGroup RLD / RS: Yes / Yes | Weight | “Liraglutide injection is indicated in combination with a reduced calorie diet and increased physical activity to reduce excess body weight and maintain weight reduction long term in:” |
| ANDA217234 | ORBICULAR | AP2 · Saxenda NDA206321-001Generic RLD / RS: No / NoGroup RLD / RS: Yes / Yes | Weight | “Liraglutide injection is indicated in combination with a reduced calorie diet and increased physical activity to reduce excess body weight and maintain weight reduction long term in:” |
| ANDA217590 | ORBICULAR | AP1 · Victoza NDA022341-001Generic RLD / RS: No / NoGroup RLD / RS: Yes / Yes | Diabetes | “Liraglutide injection is indicated: as an adjunct to diet and exercise to improve glycemic control in adults and pediatric patients aged 10 years and older with type 2 diabetes mellitus.” |
| ANDA218115 | NANJING KING FRIEND | AP1 · Victoza NDA022341-001Generic RLD / RS: No / NoGroup RLD / RS: Yes / Yes | Diabetes | “Liraglutide Injection is indicated: as an adjunct to diet and exercise to improve glycemic control in adults and pediatric patients aged 10 years and older with type 2 diabetes mellitus.” |
The checked label response returned no label for 3 of those applications on the day it was read. Their separate Orange Book rows still report AP1. That group does not fill in the missing label response.
Saxenda and Victoza are the same molecule in the same 18 mg pen from the same company, with different approved uses and doses. What Saxenda costs and what Victoza costs show the brands’ published prices and any savings-program terms. These offers do not establish the price of a generic.
What remains unknown
Your price, local stock and future launch dates need different checks.
- Your price. CMS does not list patient cash prices or copays in this file. Ask for a quote for your prescription, with or without insurance.
- Local stock. FDA’s file does not show what is on your pharmacy’s shelf. Ask the pharmacy to check the product and label.
- Whether or when semaglutide’s ANDA becomes marketed. The file marks it tentative, but contains no patent or exclusivity data and does not state why or when the status may change.
More cost guides
Compare patient prices, check pharmacy quote options or learn how compounded products differ.
- Compare GLP-1 patient prices separates cash offers, commercial-insurance terms and government-plan eligibility.
- What compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide actually are covers compounded products separately from the FDA application snapshot used here.
- What Trulicity costs covers the brand’s prices and assistance options.
- Compare pharmacy quotes explains what to keep the same when checking prices.
5 program documents — every price on this page was read from one of them
- Drugs@FDA via openFDA — every application on file for tirzepatide, semaglutide, liraglutide, dulaglutide and exenatide, with each product’s marketing status · US Food and Drug Administration · federal drug approval file · retrieved 2026-08-13
- FDA labels via openFDA — the INDICATIONS AND USAGE section returned for each checked application · US Food and Drug Administration · federal drug approval file · retrieved 2026-08-13
- Orange Book product data — the checked liraglutide application, product, TE code, RLD and reference-standard rows · US Food and Drug Administration · federal drug approval file · retrieved 2026-09-06
- Orange Book data-file definitions — FDA’s meanings for TE code, RLD and RS · US Food and Drug Administration · federal drug approval file · retrieved 2026-09-06
- Orange Book preface — FDA’s scope for therapeutic-equivalence groups, RLD and RS · US Food and Drug Administration · federal drug approval file · retrieved 2026-09-06